Lotto Numbers:
Date: April 1, 2024




                   BALLYGUNNER 0-23 DUNGARVAN 1-11

Fielding at full strength for the first time in this championship season defending nine in a row
champions Ballygunner showed that they are now up for serious business with the championship
now in the knockout stages as they faced Dungarvan in Carrickneg on Saturday last. With Ian Kenny
and Barry Coughlan back in defence and Kevin Mahony moving back into the attack there would be
no more experimenting as a battling, but outplayed, Dungarvan side were clinically brushed aside.

Playing into the breeze in the first half Dungarvan needed a good start to put any kind of pressure
on the champions. The sides were level for the only time in the game after two minutes with
Michael Kiely sending over a great point in reply to Kevin Mahoney’s opening score. With Patrick
Fitzgerald, somewhat surprisingly, taking over the free taking duties from Pauric Mahony he opened
his account with two points followed by one from Conor Sheahan and two more from Kevin Mahony
before Patrick Curran opened his account in the 8 th minute.
Dungarvan appeared to be coming more into the game with Tristan Loftus sending over a point in
the 12 th minute to leave three between the teams but were clearly unhappy with some of the
decisions going against them as Ballygunner moved into a 0-8 to 0-3 lead at the end of the first
With the rain teeming down in a cloud burst the scoring rate dropped before halftime with
Dungarvan matching the Gunners score for score in the second quarter with Patrick Curran sending
over two frees and Johnny Burke one from play in reply to two points from Fitzgerald (1F) and one
from the busy Peter Hogan who, throughout the game was the director of operations for
 Overall, Dungarvan were not in as bad a position as might have been expected at one
stage as they trailed on a score of 0-11 to 0-6 going into the second half with the breeze to come at their
Patrick Curran continued to provide the main threat in the Dungarvan attack as he pointed a free on
the resumption and after Hutchinson and Sheahan had scored in reply Curran again pointed from
play. Hopes of a Dungarvan revival were soon dashed as Ballygunner moved up a gear to score six
points without reply between the 43 rd and 50 th minutes with Pauric Mahony restored to free taking
duties following the substitution of Patrick Fitzgerald with an apparent shoulder injury.
Johnny Burke interrupted the Gunners’ scoring run with a fine point in the 51 st minute before Dessie
Hutchinson and Peter Hogan shot their side into a twelve point lead with just over five minutes of
normal time remaining. To Dungarvan’s credit they refused to throw in the towel as the busy Joe
Duggan exchange a point with Pauric Mahony before Patrick Curran was narrowly wide of goal from
close range at the end of normal time but quickly made amends when whipping to the net from a
similar situation before sending over his side’s last point though Ballygunner still had the last word
with Kevin Mahony sending over his fourth point in the dying seconds.In the final analysis Ballygunner did all they needed to do here in preparation for next weekend’s
semi-final. Peter Hogan was their outstanding player here covering every blade of grass on the pitch.
Ballygunner’s only concern may be the injury sustained by Patrick Fitzgerald.
Dungarvan fought on to the bitter end though it was surprising to see Darragh Lyons used as a
sweeper throughout the second half when just five points down and chasing the game with the
breeze at their backs on the resumption. Once again it was left to Patrick Curran to put in a strong
performance for his team with best support coming from Joe Duggan and Johnny Burke.
Scorers:- Ballygunner – Patrick Fitzgerald 0-5 (4Fs), Pauric Mahony 0-4 (2Fs), Kevin Mahony 0-4,
Conor Sheahan, Dessie Hutchinson and Peter Hogan 0-3 each, Jake Foley 0-1.
Dungarvan – Patrick Curran 1-6 (0-3Fs), Johnny Burke 0-2, Michael Kiely, Tristin Loftus and Joe
Duggan 0-1 each.
Ballygunner – Stephen O’Keeffe, Ian Kenny, Barry Coughlan, Tadhg Foley, Shane O’Sullivan, Philip
Mahony, Harry Ruddle, Conor Sheahan, Paddy Leavey, Dessie Hutchinson, Pauric Mahony, Peter
Hogan, Kevin Mahony, Patrick Fitzgerald, Mikey Mahony, Subs – Ronan Power for Kenny (15), Jake
Foley for Fitzgerald (46), Billy O’keeffe for M. Mahony(53).
Dungarvan – Gavin Power, Robbie Wall, John Curran, Kealan Daly, Jack Lacey, Darragh Lyons, Mikey
Burke, Joe Duggan, Cathal Curran, Eoin O’Callaghan, Patrick Curran, Colm Curran, Johnny Burke,
Tristan Loftus, Michael Kiely.

Referee- Michael O’Brien (Portlaw)



Club Shop

Book A Pitch

Club facilities can now be booked through You can book the meeting room, both pitches and the astro turf pitch.

Web: | Call 0873422144

Web: | Call 0873422144

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by