Lotto Numbers:
Date: April 1, 2024





LOCAL SCHOOL, Dungarvan CBS got their 2024 sporting year off to a very bright beginning on Wednesday January 24th when they led from start to finish to annex the Munster under 19 D football championship final at the superbly developed Fethard Town Park in Tipperary.

PRIOR to the throw in, first time visitors to the 2023 opened all sports facility, viewed it with much approval and indeed a little jealousy at what has been made available to the sporting life in South Tipp, less than an hour away from Dungarvan.

The jewel in the crown is, undoubtedly, the freshly laid 4G all weather full length field which accommodates, Rugby and Soccer games as well as the purpose on the day, the Munster Schools football final.

The CBS qualified for the Provincial decider after defeating St. Declan’s, Kilmacthomas the previous week by 1-6 to 1-5 while Mungret got the better of Shannon C.S. Clare by 4-11 to 3-6.

The game was only ten seconds old when Zac Ashraf opened the scoring from play with Mungret’s best forward, Diarmuid Hynes, levelling matters in the second minute.

There was no scoring for the next eleven minutes during which both sides implemented their style of play and it was Dungarvan’s possession type of play with purpose that was to prove most influential.

Team play with a finish gave Dungarvan a foothold between the 13th and 18th minutes with scores by Paddy McCarthy, David Butler(f), who went on to give a Man of the  Match performance, and Cormac Deevey after a splendid build up by Killian Ryan and Tommy Flynn, 0-4 to 0-1.

Mungret’s didn’t  possess the same team play ability as the winners but their eagerness saw them stay in touch with scores by wing forward Muiris Ahern and Diarmuid Hynes, again, either side of a finish to another good Dungarvan move by Luke Power to leave the scoreboard reading 0-6 to 0-3 with 24 minutes on the clock.

David Butler kicked his second pointed free on 25 minutes and the firsr half scoring was completed by Mungret’s Diarmuid Hynes when he kicked over the best score of the half in the 28th minue, 0-7 to 0-4.

Dungsarvan’s superiority was reflected in the amount of their scoring opportunities though kicking half a dozen wides, double that of their opponents while they won the same amount of frees to Mungret’s three. In both halves, the winner’s defence was dogged and they played a key part in their school’s vIctory. Dungarvan had seven different first half scorers to Mungrets’ two.


DESPITE playing into a slight breeze, Mungret’s began the second half the better of the two teams. Diarmuid Hynes set the trend with a fine run through the CBS defence before his team mate, Luke Walsh(f) and Hynes, himself, worked the scoreboard to leave just the minimum between the teams on a scoreboard reading 0-7 to 0-6.

However, a feature of the second half play was that the CBS were able to reply quickly to their opponent’s scores and especially in the 37th minute when Killian Ryan’s run opened up the Mungret’s defence, before setting up David Butler for a superbly taken goal, a crucial strike in a game of all points up to this stage, 1-7 to 0-6.

This goal spurred on the winners and the player responsible for it as Butler pointed a 39th minute ‘45’ and then he was placed by Paddy McCarthy for a 42nd minute minor from play.  Luke Power was at the end of another move to kick his second score one minute later and as the third quarter was drawing to a conclusion, the CBS held a good 0-7 advantage.

Credit, Mungret’s though, they never gave up the chase and they played as if there was just 0-1 between the teams. Midfielder Mark O Brien kicked a 43rd minute point while Luke Power placed Billy O Connell for a splendid response, 1-11 to 0-7.

Dungarvan had more opportunities to score but they brought their overall tally of wides to double figures,ten, and Mungrets could have made them pay the cost in the 52nd minute, but the unmarked David Ahern’s drive at goal came back off the cross bar.

Mungrets had four wides of their own in the second half and it was all of fourteen minutes when they bridged their last visit to the scoreboard, a pointed free by Luke Walsh on 57 minutes. Mungrets enjoyed plenty possession in front of the Dungarvan posts but the winner’s defence was outstanding to a man with timely tackles and blocking advances to better scoring positions.

Paddy McCarthy scored a relieving point for the winners in the 58th minute and his team’s seven point lead was restored, 1-12 to 0-8. Mungrets ‘ persistence was at last rewarded on the call of normal time when Mark Barrett’s drive denied the best efforts of Conor Moore in goal but this proved to be the final score of a very competitive and entertaining Munster final.

Dungarvan CBS deserving winners and team captain Cormac Deevey accepted Corn Sheain Ui Mhaoldomhnaigh on behalf of hs team mates.

Dungarvan’s Top Three : David Butler, Cillian Ryan, Jack Power.

Mungrets’ Top Three : Diarmuid Hynes, Tom Lloyd, Mark O Brien.

Man of the Match : David Butler.

Frees For : Dungarvan : 11. Mungrets : 8.

Wides : Dungravan : 10. Mungrets : 7.

Number of Scorers : Dungarvan : 7. Mungrets : 5.

Scores From Play : Dungarvan : 1-9.Mungrets ; 1-6.

Score of the Match : Mungrets’ 48th minute point from play by Diarmuid Hynes.

Scorers :

Dungarvan CBS : David Butler 1-4(2f, 1’45’), Paddy McCarthy and Luke Power 0-2 each, Zac Ashraf, Cormac Deevey, Tommy Flynn and Billy O Connell 0-1 each.

Mungrets’ C.C. : Diarmuid Hynes 0-4, Mark Barrett 1-0, Luke Walsh 0-2f, Muiris Ahern and Mark O Brien  0-1 each.

Teams :

Dungarvan CBS : Conor Moore (Ardmore); Cian Moore (St. Olivers), Jack Power (Brickeys), Robbie Wall(Dungarvan); David Nyhan(Brickeys), Cillian Ryan(Brickeys), Jack Prendergast(St. Olivers); Billy O Connell(Ballinacourty), Cormac Deevey(Brickeys); Mark Power*St. Patricks), David Butler(St. Patricks), Paddy McCarthy(Brickeys); Luke Power(Dungarvan), Tommy Flynn(Ballinacourty), Zac Ashraf(Brickeys). Subs : Brandon Dillon(Dungarvan) for Cormac Deevey(inj, 38).

Mungrets’ Communty College : (All Mungret St. Pauls players bar number 4.)

Jake Foley;  Amhlaoibh Bohane, Conor Mangan, Jack Leenane; Ross O Carroll, Tom Llyod, John Wright; Fintan O Kelly, Mark O Brien; Muiris Ahern, Diarmuid Hynes, Mark Barrett; Adam Dore, Darragh Hogan, Luke Walsh. Subs : Christopher McSweeney for Adam Dore (46), Evan O Keeffe for Amhlaoibh Bohane(60), Mark Galvin(60).



Club Shop

Book A Pitch

Club facilities can now be booked through You can book the meeting room, both pitches and the astro turf pitch.

Web: | Call 0873422144

Web: | Call 0873422144

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by