Lotto Numbers:
Date: April 1, 2024





With nothing separating the two clubs in the championship system after their Group section, Dungarvan and Emmets met in the Fraher Field last Wednesday evening to decide who would play Modeligo in the Divisional semi final.

This latest game was similar in type to their Group fixture with Dungarvan relying on goals to advance and similarly Emmets on points to reach the last four. The score at half time in the Group game the previous Friday in Ballyduff was Dungarvan 2-6 Emmets 0-8 and last Wednesday evening it was Dungarvan 2-3 Emmets 0-6.

Dungarvan had Cathal Curran and the two Joes, Allen and Duggan back for this game but were without midfielder John Curran  while Emmets started injury concern Reece Stringer from the off but were without the influential Dan BBooth i lar na pairce.

Cathal Curran opened the scoring from play in the town end after 27 seconds with Mark Flynn replying inside a minute. Jason Dunford and Curran(f) again , exchanged scores  before Mike Kiely placed Dungarvan’s only scorer so far, Cathal Curran, for a 4th minute goal, 1-2 to 0-2.

Johnny Wall grabbed three of the next game scores from frees for Emmets with a Joe Allen minor still leaving the local side to the good by 2-2 to 0-5 on 15 minutes.

Cathal Curran was again the tormentor in chief in the Dungarvan attack with a 20th minute point from play and in a Emmets dominated last ten minutes, the final score of the first moiety was a fine long distant effort by Ross Dunford three minutes before the break.

Both teams kicked half a dozen wides each while Emmets won nine frees to Dungarvan’s two.


The winners introduced Owen Buenaventura for Gabriel McGovern for the second half and, similar to the first, it was Cathal Curran(f) who opened the scoring.  John Wall pointed from play in the 39th minute as Emmets stayed in touch at 2-4 to 0-7 but, in a period of dominance, Dungarvan could not find their scoring range and there were almost made pay when a 44th minute goal scoring effort by John Wall just went wide of the post.

Four minutes later, a goal did arrive but it was for Dungarvan when  a breaking ball in front of goal from good play by Sean Hyslop and Cathal Curran saw Michael Kiely react the quickest to finish the ball to the country end goal, 3-4 to 0-7.

This third goal put Dungarvan in a strong position entering the final quarter which produced an equal sharing of half a dozen points each. A fifth John Wall point cut Emmets deficit to 0-5 but the hard working throughout Colm Curran lofted over two fine scores from play by the 52nd minute to give the Blues a 0-7 cushion at 3-6 to 0-8.

Credit Emmets, they fought on and were rewarded with two scores of their own by Wall and Jason Dunford to leave 0-5 separating the sides at 3-6 to 0-10. A Emmets goal at this stage would have provided a thrilling climax but the final score fell to Dungarvan’s Michael Kiely in the 62nd minute  to give the reigning champions a deserving 0-6 win in another case in GAA circles that goals win games.

Dungarvan’s Top Three : Colm Curran, Cathal Curran, Jack Lacey.

Emmets Top Three : John Wall, Charlie Whelan, Jason Dunford.

Observer’s Man of the Match : Colm Curran.

Number of Scorers : Dungarvan : 4. Emmets : 4.

Scores From Play : Dungarvan : 3-5. Emmets : 0-6.

Frees For : Ekmmets : 18. Dungarvan : 4.

Wides : Dungarvan : 6. Emmets : 10.

Score of the Match : Jason Dunford’s 58th minute point from play.

Scorers : Dungarvan : Cathal Curran 1-4(2f), Michael Kiely 1-1, Joe Allen 1-0, Colm Curran 0-2.

Emmets : John Wall 0-6(4f), Jason Dunford 0-2, Mark Flynn and Ross Dunford 0-1 each.

Teams :

Dungarvan : Mark Boland; Sean Hyslop, Kealan Daly, Mikey Burke; Jamie Nagle, Jack Fitzgerald, Darren Duggan; Colm Curran, Jack Lacey; Gabriel McGovern, Joe Allen, Michael Kiely; Joe Duggan, Cathal Curran, Eoin O Callaghan. Subs : Owen Buenaventura for Gabriel McGovern,  Conor Sheridan for Kealan Daly (inj.), Gavin Christopher for Owen Buenaventura.

Colligan Emmets : Seanie McGrath; Sean Browne, John Nick Fennell, Darren Dunford; Charlie Whelan , Reece Stringer, Liam Beresford; Jason Dunford, Joe Booth; Ross Browne, Colin Dunford, Mark Flynn; John Wall, Ross Dunford, Gavin Whelan. Subs : Richie Kiely for Darren Dunford (inj.), Adam Dunford for Joe Booth, Darragh Hallahan for Sean Browne.

Referee : Tommy Sullivan (Affane/Cappoquin).



Club Shop

Book A Pitch

Club facilities can now be booked through You can book the meeting room, both pitches and the astro turf pitch.

Web: | Call 0873422144

Web: | Call 0873422144

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by