Lotto Numbers:
Date: February 18, 2019


Fraher Field Classics

Western Junior Hurling Championship

Year : 1968

Courtesy of the Editor of the Dungarvan Observer

From the Pen of John A. Murphy

Newspaper Saturday August 17th.1968


Dungarvan 9-6 Brickey Rangers 2-2

THE expected closely contested first round junior hurling championship game at the Fraher Field on Sunday last between Dungarvan and Brickeys never materialised as the Brickeys were but a pale shadow of some very useful combinations that they have fielded in the past.

Over the hour Dungarvan played some excellent hurling and the forwards showed a real hunger for scores and they can await their nest outing against Tallow with some justifiable confidence.

The Brickeys fell into arrears early on and they trailed at half time by 5-2 to 0-2. They did stage a spirited closing rally that brought them a brace of goals but theirs was a side that was totally unprepared for championship battle.

Dungarvan were complete masters from the start. Their midfield pairing of Christy Whelan and John Egan gave them a very definite pull in the sector and from the lavish service supplied by this pair, the Dungarvan attack began to pick off the scores. Mickey Mahony had two well taken goals inside ten minutes but Brickey points by Richie Whelan and Willie Terry, to which Mahony replied with one from Dungarvan, left the winners 2-1 to 0-1 ahead at the end of the first quarter.

Dungarvan finished the half in absolute control and goals by Jim Nagle, Jim Dee and Sean Power and a Tom Cunningham gave them an unflattering 5-2 to 0-2 half time lead.

Brickeys restarted with their forces almost completely regrouped. Richie Whelan had now taken over from Charlie McAllister in goal with the latter moving to the full line of attack. Peter Ferncombe moved from corner back to centre forward but Dungarvan continued to dominate.

The winners had further goals by Christy Whelan,Jim Nagle,John Egan and Mickey Mahony and points by the latter (2) and Tom Cunningham followed. The Brickeys did succeed in scoring a brace of goals in the closing minutes per Charlie McAllister and John Woods but Dungarvan fittingly had the final say with a Jim Dee point.

For Dungarvan Michael Flynn played well in goal but if the full line of John Clancy, Sean Murphy and Michael Lewis made no mistakes, it was the superb hurling of half backs Eddie Sheehan (in particular), Michael Norris and Timmy Healy that caught the eye most.

John Egan and Christy Whelan were on top all through at midfield and all six forwards shared in the triumph, although Mickey Mahony, Tom Cunningham and Jim Dee formed a particularl effective half line.

The Brickeys stars were few and far between but defeat was certainly no fault of John Woods, Nicholas McGrath, Peter Ferncombe, Richie Whelan and Willie Terry, who hurled tirelessly in a vain bid to stem the tide that flowed so strong against them.

Dungarvan- M. Flynn; J. Clancy, S. Murphy, M. Lewis; E. Sheehan, M. Norris, T. Healy; J. Egan, C. Whelan; M. Mahony, T. Cunningham. J. Dee; S. Power, M. Fitzgerald, J. Nagle. Sub- J. Fennell for Fitzgerald.

Brickey Rangers- C. McAllister; B. Spratt, N. McGrath, P. Ferncombe; J. Cooney, J. Spratt, J. Cooney; P. Curran, J. Woods; J. Mansfield, W. Terry, V. Curran; R. Whelan, M. Spratt, M. Whelan.

Referee : T. Scanlon (Affane).

Fixtures & Results







Round 1 : v Tallow in Fraher Field Sunday March 31st at 1.30pm.

Round 2 : v Ballygunner in Walsh Park Saturday April 6th at 6pm.

Round 3 : v Clonea. TBC.


Round 1 : v Fourmilewater in Ballymac Monday March 18th at 12 noon.

Round 2 : v Lismore in Dungarvan Saturday March 23rd at 5pm.

Roind 3 : v Tallow in Tallow Saturday April 27th at 7pm.

Round 4 : v Ballyduff in Dungarvan Saturday May 4th at 7pm.

Round 5 : v Abbeyside in Dungarvan Sunday June 9th at 12 noon.


Round 1 : V Modeligo Friday April 19th at 7pm in Bushy Park.



Round 1 : v Fourmilewater  Sunday April 7th at 12 noon.


Round 1 : v Clashmore/ Kinsalebeg at home Friday April 12th at 7pm.

Round 2 : v A Bye.

Round 3 : v Nire at home Friday May 24th at 7pm.

Round 4 : v Brickeys away Friday June 7th at 7.30pm.

Round 5 : v Kilrossanty away Friday June 14th at 7.30pm.


Round 1 : v Clashmore/ Kinsalebeg in Ardmore Sunday March 3rd at 11.30am.

Round 2 : A Bye.

Round 3: v Affane. March 23rd.


Provisional Dates :

Round 1 : v Rathormack away Sunday February 17th at 11.30am. (P0sponed).

Round 2 :v Brickeys at home on Sunday February 24th at 11.30am.

Round 3 : v  St. Pats/Naomh Brid at home on Sunday March 10th. at 11.30am.



  • Group A
  • 1. The Nire
  • 2. Brickey Rangers
  • 3.Portlaw/Ballyduff
  • 4. Tramore
  • 5. An Ghaeltacht
  • 6. De La Salle
  • Group B
  • 1. Dungarvan
  • 2.St. Saviours
  • 3.St Molloran
  • 4. St Carthages
  • 5. Roanmore
  • 6. Clan Na Gael
  • 5 Matches, 5 rounds, 3×3 home games
  • Divisional Boards may play a stand alone divisional final between top 2 teams from each division

First game Saturday March 16th TBC.








Facebook News

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#4) Application request limit reached
Type: OAuthException
Code: 4
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so. Through thick and thin, good times and bad, we have stayed the pace, and to-day we are the oldest - and I dare say the best - club in the county. We stand uniquely alone as the only club in the Decies to have won county championships in every grade from Under 12 up to senior in both codes.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by