Lotto Numbers:
Date: April 26, 2021



Dungarvan Regain O Neill Harnedy Cup after Extra Time

Dungarvan 1-10 Modelgo 1-8 (aet).

In a hard fought controversial battle more so than a game of quality football, it took extra time to separate Dungarvan and Modeligo in the Western Intermediate football final at the Fraher Field last Sunday evening.

The teams were level at the end of normal time on a scoreboard reading 1-7 each but Modeligo didn’t score from play in extra time while Dungarvan sub Gavin Power, Waterford’s All Ireland minor hurling winning goalie from 2013, became the hero for the Blues with a brace of scores from play in that extra twenty minutes of play

. For the second week in a row, Dungarvan played all of the second half with fourteen players with the dismissal of Joe Allen in the 27th minute while both teams were fortunate that their numbers subsequently remained the same in a game where the focus was as much on the man as on the ball. The game was also not short of controversy with a penalty awarded to Dungarvan for a foot block on Luke O Callaghan in the 41st minute being overturned with his team leading by 1-5 to 0-5 while in the 8th minute of added time in the second half, the Blues were awarded a free with doubts raised if Gavin Crotty’s effort dissected the posts

. On the tactical front, Dungarvan played Modeligo at their own game of holding on to the ball and with both sides employing this possession style football, it didn’t produce a great spectacle.

While the forwards usually take the honours in a game, the Dungarvan defence were very much on top of their form and time and time again they overturned Modeligo possession. Dungarvan led this low scoring encounter until Bernard Wright’s 44th minute goal changed the scoreboard to 1-6 to 1-5 in Modeligo’s favour. The champions looked to have their three in a row safely in the bag when Nicky O Donovan pointed from a pass by free taker Troy in the 55th minute, 1-7 to 1-6 and especially so when they held on to the ball for the most of the announced five minutes of added time. However, further time was added during which Gavin Crotty levelled the game and then there was a delay while the lights came on one by one at the Shandon venue before extra time began.

This was a difficult loss for Modeligo to take but Dungarvan’s determination in extra time was crucial and coming out on the right side of a 0-3 to 0-1 extra time scoring, they deserve their place against Kill in this weekend’s County final in Walsh Park. In a low scoring first moiety, Dungarvan started the better with a point from play by Gavin Crotty after two minutes and a second score from a free by the same player in the 10th minute. The trend of the play throughout featured each team enjoying a period of possession and Modeligo levelled by the 22nd minute with a score from play by Pa O Donovan on twelve minutes followed by Shane Troy’s equalizer from a placed ball.

Dungarvan regained the initiative with a splendidly worked goal in the 23rd minute involving a number of players and finished in style by Kieran Power, who played one of his best games here, 1-2 to 0-2. Back came Modeligo with a John Devine point from play in the 26th minute before Joe Allen was red carded. The final score of the half was a second Shane Troy pointed free, Dungavan ahead by 1-2 to 0-4 at the break. Dungarvan kicked five first half wides and Modeligo two. Both teams were awarded five frees each

. Dungarvan enjoyed the better of the first ten minutes on the restart. Gavin Crotty scored from play after just 40 seconds, a feat equalled by Shane Troy in the 33rd minute. Kieran Power and Gavin Crotty (f) edged Dungarvan into a 1-5 to 0-5 lead before the penalty decision for a foul on Luke O Callagahan was overturned, an important moment in the game

. Modeligo grabbed this piece of good luck with open arms and inside four minutes they were ahead for the first time. Shane Troy pointed a 43rd minute free and then sub Bernard Wright finished an excellent team move to the net one minute later. Leading by 1-6 to 1-5, the pendulum was now swinging the champion’s way. Gavin Power came on for the injured Luke O Callagahan in the 51st minute and Gavin Crotty levelled proceedings with his fifth point. Shane Troy’s free caught the Dungarvan side napping when he picked out Nicky O Donovan at a distance who unerringly kicked a lead score with 55 minutes on the clock. The issuing of yellow cards was common during the second half and Dungarvan were glad to hear that at least five minutes of added time would be played. Modeligo controlled the ball for much of this time before the Blues received a life line with Gavin Crotty(f) levelling in the 68th minute.

On to extra time with Dungarvan back to fifteen players in the person of Joe Duggan and there was only one score in the first half. This came from Gavin Power in the country end and though it was just a one score lead for Dungarvan, it was significant in a short ten minute moiety. Yet, Modeligo were back on level terms in the 74th minute when a long range free was correctly brought forward by the referee and Shane Troy kicked over his fifth minor, 1-8 to 1-8. Dungarvan were the fitter of the two sides at this late stage though and with five minutes remaining Gavin Crotty was on target once again from a free. Credit the champions, they tried to get back on level terms but a piece of magic by Gavin Power settled the game with an excellent point from an angle off his left foot in the 81st minute. Modeligo were on the attack seeking a winning goal when the final whistle sounded to leave Dungarvan regaining a title they last held in 2017 and taking back the O Neill /Harnedy Cup which was first presented in 1983.

Dungarvan’s Top Three : Gavin Crotty, Darragh Lyons, Kieran Power. Modeligo’s Top Three : Sean O Donovan, Shane Troy, Pa O Donovan. Observer’s Man of the Match: Gavin Crotty. Number of Scorers : Dungarvan : 3. Modeligo : 5. Scores From Play : Dungarvan : 1-5. Modeligo : 1-4. Frees For : Dungarvan : 17. Modeligo : 18. Wides : Dungarvan : 10. Modeligo : 5. Score of the Match : Gavin Power’s 81st minute point for Dungarvan.

Scorers : Dungarvan : Gavin Crotty 0-7(5f), Kieran Power 1-1, Gavin Power 0-2. Modeligo : Shane Troy 0-5(4f), Bernard Wright 1-0, Pa O Donovan, John Devine and Nicky O Donovan 0-1 each.

Teams : Dungarvan : Mark Boland; Conor Sheridan, Derek Barry, Kealan Daly; Jack Lacey, Darragh Lyons, Jamie Nagle; John Curran, Joe Allen; Michael Kiely, Kieran Power, Johnny Burke; Darren Duggan, Gavin Crotty, Joe Duggan. Subs : Luke O Callaghan for Joe Duggan(h/t), Gavin Power for Luke O Callaghan(inj, 51), Tristan Loftus for Michael Kiely(inj, 80).

Modeligo : Thomas Walsh; Kieran McCarthy, John McGrath, Mick Devine Nicky O Donovan, Seanie O Donovan, Sean Hennessy; Niall Brown Rian Reddy ; John Devine, Pa O Donovan, Jamie Troy; Michael Troy Shane Troy, Keith Hickey. Subs : Bernard Wright for Michael Troy(42), Robbie Buckley for Bernard Wright (inj, 79)

. Referee : Martin Curran (Sean Phobail).

Book A Pitch

Club facilities can now be booked through You can book the meeting room, both pitches and the astro turf pitch.

Club Shop

Web: | Call 0873422144

Web: | Call 0873422144

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so. Through thick and thin, good times and bad, we have stayed the pace, and to-day we are the oldest - and I dare say the best - club in the county. We stand uniquely alone as the only club in the Decies to have won county championships in every grade from Under 12 up to senior in both codes.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by