Lotto Numbers:
Date: June 5, 2023






Nobody could have argued if this all parish local junior hurling derby game had ended in a draw at the well appointed Abbeyside venue last Friday evening. Both club’s second teams provided an entertaining hour’s hurling at the end of which Dungarvan had 0-2 to spare after leading by 0-4 with five minutes remaining .

The goals in the second half were the key scores here. Brickeys’ Tadhg Tobin’s strike at the end of a good team move  gave the Brickeys a 44th minute lead at 1-10 to 0-12 while a 53rd minute goal by Sean Ryan left the winners  1-15 to 1-11 clear before an exciting finale.

Brickeys fielded a young fit side that enjoyed much of the play while Dungarvan could have made their task that bit easier if they had taken more of their scoring opportunities,  especially major ones.

The game was level at the end of the first quarter on a score of 0-4 each with Stevie Ahearne and former Dungarvan player Brendan Cullinane(3f) on the mark for Brickeys and  Kyle Healy and Sean Ryan(3) on target for the Blues.

There was never much between the teams and at half time, Dungarvan held a 0-8 to 0-7 lead after further scores by Healy 0-3(2f) and Ryan and James Hahessy, Darragh O Grady and Ahearne replying for the Bushy Park men. Dungarvan struck seven first half wides to Brickeys’ four. Both teams had goal opportunities with Dungarvan goalie David Flynn doing well to field two attempts from under the cross bar in that first moiety.


Dungarvan started the second half the brighter, outscoring their opponents by 0-3 to 0-1 thanks to further strikes by Kyle Healy 0-2(1f) and Mark McGarry with Brickeys best player Stevie Ahearne keeping Brickeys in contact at 0-11 to 0-8.

As the game progressed, Brickeys fitness and training saw them enjoy more possession. Brendan Cullinan, from play, and Kyle Healy(f) traded minors and then Tadhg Tobin restored Brickeys’ early match lead when he slammed home the sliotar at the end of  his team’s defence splitting move in the 44th minute.

Credit Dungarvan, though labouring in areas around the field, they equalised with a Kyle Healy point from play. Both Healy and Brendan Cullinan traded minors from play at the start of the final quarter and it was Healy, again, who gave Dungarvan the minimum lead with a fine score from play.

The defining score came from Dungarvan in the 53rd minute when Sean Ryan slotted home a fine individual effort to open some daylight at 1-15 to 1-11 for the Blues. Brickeys displayed great character in accounting for three of the remaining four scores of the match. Brendan Cullinan(f) and Sean Ryan(‘65’) traded points before Brickeys ensured a grand stand finish with a magnificent long distant free by Darragh O Grady and Stevie Ahearne’s third score from play.

Both teams will be happy enough with their performances, Dungarvan with the win but not with their general play and Brickeys with their fitness and display but not with a first defeat.

Dungarvan’s Top Three ; Sean Ryan, Kyle Healy, Kenny Moore.

Brickeys : Stevie Ahearne, Brendan Cullinan, Tadhg Tobin.

Observer’s Man of the Match : Sean Ryan.

Number of Scorers : Dungarvan : 4. Brickeys : 6.

Frees For : Dungarvan : 8. Brickeys : 9.

Wides : Dungarvan : 13. Brickeys : 7.

Score of the Match : Brickeys team goal scored by Tadhg Tobin.

Scorers :

Dungarvan : Kyle Healy 0-9(5f), Sean Ryan 1-5(1’65’), Joe Allen and Mark McGarry 0-1 each.

Brickeys : Brendan Cullinan 0-6(5f), Stevie Ahearne 0-4, Tadhg Tobin 1-0, Darragh O Grady 0-2(1f), James Hahessy and Justin Whelan 0-1 each.

Teams :

Dungarvan : David Flynn; Kevin Collins, Gary Donnolly, Sean Hyslop; Daniel Flynn, Conor Sheridan, Sam Dalton; Gabriel McGovern, Joe Allen; David Hayes,  Kenny Moore, Mark McGarry; Ivan Fitzgerald, Sean Ryan, Kyle Healy. Subs : Lorcan McGovern for Conor Sheridan (inj.), James O Callaghan for Ivan Fitzgerald.

Brickey Rangers : Cian O Halloran;  S. Fennell, Sam Lombard, Nigel Whelan; Eoin McGrath, Darragh O Grady, Hugo Harty; James Hahessy, Alan Curran; Stephen Ahearne, Michael O Dwyer, Tadhg Tobin; Mikey Sheehan, Brendan Cullinan, Justin Whelan. Subs :

Referee : Stephen Pratt (Tallow).



Club Shop

Book A Pitch

Club facilities can now be booked through You can book the meeting room, both pitches and the astro turf pitch.

Web: | Call 0873422144

Web: | Call 0873422144

About Dungarvan GAA Club

Dungarvan GAA Club was affiliated to the Gaelic Athletic Association on June the 1st 1885 - the first club in Waterford to do so.

Website by: Déise Design

Contact Information

Dungarvan GAA Club
Dungarvan, Co. Waterford,

Phone: (087)7977272


Website Sponsored by